ISTE Standards for Students

ISTE Standards Coming to a NC School Near You

In September, 2019 the North Carolina State Board of Education adopted the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) Standards for Students. Although this will not be fully implemented until the 2020-21 school year, we thought you might want to take a look at the standards and their indicators. Take special note of the fact that these standards are designed to give students ownership in their own learning and a chance to have a voice in their own education.

The ISTE Standards revolve around 7 roles that students need to master in order to be prepared to make the most of their current role as a learner, and in the future as they join the work force. These 7 standards include:

  • Empowered Learner
  • Digital Citizen
  • Knowledge Constructor
  • Innovative Designer
  • Computational Thinker
  • Creative Communicator
  • Global Collaborator

Visit the ISTE website for a more detailed look at the standards and the indicators which support them.

Related Articles

This page was last modified by Angie McClung on Dec 5, 2019 @ 3:37 pm