Learn From Home for Kindergarten, First & Second Grades
Parents, if you are new to the Henderson County area, you may have a lot of questions about the school system. The following information will provide the answers to many of your questions.
For parents who have lived in Henderson County for a number of years, but have children entering the school system for the first time, this page is also for you!
And, of course, for parents who have been through this before, we have information that will keep you up-to-date on the latest happenings in elementary education.
For our year-round (Flexible Schedule) schools, Bruce Drysdale Elementary and Hendersonville Elementary, the new school year begins in July. For all other elementary schools, the school year begins in August. View our HCPS School Calendars.
The four most common questions parents have are:
1. What Will My Child Learn?
Click to read more about the NC Standard Course of Study.
2. What are the promotion requirements?
Promotion requirements are important for parents to monitor. This helps keep your child on track throughout the year. This is especially important for end-of-grade testing, which occurs in third, fourth, and fifth grades. (See also information about the Read to Achieve Program and the parent brochure below.) In order to be considered for promotion by the principal, a student must:
- Demonstrate proficiency on the grade level state curriculum competencies as measured by designated assessments and each grade, K-5.
- Elementary students must be in attendance for a minimum of 164 days to be considered for promotion to the next grade (Board Policy #4400); and
- Meet the classroom teacher’s grade level expectations.
Click for the NC School Report Card.
Students in Grades 3 through 5 receive individual progress reports using the same grading scale as students in Grades 6-12.
3. What is the Attendance Policy for Henderson County Public Schools?
North Carolina law states that a child who is five years old on or before October 16 is eligible for public school kindergarten, or first grade if the child will be six by the same date. It also states that children between the ages of 7 and 16 must attend school.
**Special Note**: The North Carolina General Assembly passed legislation in the summer of 2007 that changes the birthdate requirement for kindergarten enrollment eligibility. Beginning in the fall of 2009, a child must be five years old on or before August 31st in order to be eligible to enroll in public school kindergarten. Click to read more about GS 115C-364.
Attendance requirements for credit and promotion require students to be in attendance for a minimum of:
Elementary School: 164 days
Middle School: 166 days
High School: (on 4 x 4 block schedule) 85 days; (on traditional schedule) 170 days
Excessive absences can result in non-promotion in Grades K-8 or course failure in high school.
Read to Achieve
The Read to Achieve Program became law in July 2012. It applies to all North Carolina schools beginning with the 2013-2014 school year. It is part of the Excellent Public Schools Act passed by the NC General Assembly.
The goal of the State is to ensure that every student reads at or above grade level at the end of third grade and continues to progress in reading proficiency so that he or she can read, comprehend, integrate, and apply complex text as needed for secondary education and career success.
For more detailed information, click here for the Read to Achieve Parent Brochure.
More Links and Information for Parents
Immunization Requirements and Information
The following is a link to documents that will be used in the Fifth Grade Growth and Development Curriculum: Materials for Parent Use
How to “Find-A-Book”“Find-A-Book” Web site and information for summer reading